Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards Presented

Publish date
Article content

Section heading

Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards Presented


2016 Safe Worker Award

WorkSafe Saskatchewan presents the Safe Worker award to a worker who goes beyond the expectations of their position to help create a safer workplace.

The 2016 WorkSafe Saskatchewan Safe Worker award winner is Lanny Storey, a journeyperson scaffolder with AREVA Resources Canada Inc., Saskatoon, SK.

Lanny designed a change to the work area to eliminate the risk of hazardous gases in the work area. He had an overflow pipe installed to prevent the release of hazardous gas. This change removed the need to wear respirators and allows Lanny and his co-workers to work in the area safely.

The two finalists for the 2016 Safe Worker Award are Heidi McCaskill from ­­­­­­­­­­Cervus Equipment, Peterbilt, Regina, and Paul Price, who works at the North Battleford Youth Centre, Ministry of Justice (Corrections).

2016 Safe Employer Award

The 2016 Safe Employer winner is Matrix Solutions Inc. of Swift Current, SK.

Matrix Solutions, an environmental and engineering consulting company, believe nothing is more important than protecting each other from harm. Matrix trains all their staff in safe work practices. They review their health, safety and environmental program regularly to ensure they are always improving.

The two finalists for the 2016 Safe Employer Award are Yorkton Plumbing and Heating Ltd. of Yorkton and Rack Petroleum Ltd. of Biggar.

Fast facts:

WorkSafe Saskatchewan has presented the Safe Worker award annually since 2006.

WorkSafe Saskatchewan founded the Safe Employer award in 2007 to honour an employer who shows leadership in health and safety beyond the requirements of the industry and legislation.

 Workplace peers and colleagues nominate the recipients of these awards. Two committees representing WorkSafe Saskatchewan, the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour, the Saskatchewan Safety Council and the Canadian Society of Safety Engineers adjudicate the nominations.

You can view a complete list of committee members and past winners at and

Nomination forms for the 2017 awards are available at

WorkSafe Saskatchewan is a partnership between the Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board and the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

In 2015, 87 per cent of Saskatchewan employers achieved Mission: Zero.

Categorized under: